Accessibility Tools

Patient Testimonials

Healthgrades Reviews

Dr Payne performed two total knee replacements for me 21 years ago. Have had no problems and he has checked and examed me every two tothree years since tomake sure I have no issues. He is the best and cares for his patients.

F. Maynard
Dec 05, 2018

I went to Dr Payne , knowing I needed both hips replaced. He explained the x-ray, examined me by moving my legs so many degrees. Talking as the scribe typed everything. He asked what I wanted to do, I replied I have no choice and scheduled the surgeries 6 weeks apart. He does his job, and is a perfectionist. I don't need a Dr with bedside manners. I need a Dr that gets the job done. I put my faith in him, and he has changed my life.

M Mackay
Aug 11, 2018

Dr. Payne did a hip replacement for my husband and the results were excellent. Needless to say, five months later he performed the same surgery for me. Of course, I would recommend his services to everyone.

Mar 27, 2019

I have had both knees replaced by Dr. Payne. Both were good experiences. He is professional and gifted. His staff deserves 5 stars also. I highly recommend him as an orthopedic surgeon.

R.M. Foti
Jun 13, 2018

Fabulous Doctor and Surgeon! Very caring, talented and informative!

S Foti
Aug 25, 2017

He's not a man of many words but he's compassionate and caring. I'm glad we found him.

Mimi
Apr 29, 2016

Vitals Reviews

DR PAYNE did a Fabulous Job on BOTH my Left & Right Knee Total Replacements. His Surgical Skills are TOP NOTCH. He managed my Pre Op, Post Op and Rehab in a superb and outstanding manner! He always takes the time to answer all my questions honestly and completely. I am extremely grateful to DR PAYNE - he possesses extraordinary surgical skills and treats me like family!

August 24th, 2017

Dr. Payne has great customer service...

August 2nd, 2016

After visits to many other doctors, Dr. Payne made a quick accurate diagnosis of the problem that I had been trying to resolve for 18 months. I wish I would have seen him sooner.

September 24th, 2014

He gave me plenty of time to ask questions and said that I could come in again for another visit.

September 10th, 2014

DR. Payne was very honest with me after reviewing the xray of my right knee. He explained my condition in a very easy to understand manner, and offered me an alternative to a full knee replacement to relieve my pain until I am able to get the surgery.

April 30th, 2014

Excellent knowledgeable Doctor. Timely appointments and super staff.

March 19th, 2014

Dr.Payne was responsible for caring for me after a bicycling injury.I was in traction,and if I had not had his experttise and care then,I would not be walking and enjoying life now.He told me that I might have some arthritis after about 5 yrs.,but I have never had any problems,and I am sure it had to do with the excellent care that he gave to me.Thanks Doc,because I was a pilot in WWII,and was in 4 airplane crashes,but without Dr.Payne's care,I would not be upright and enjoying life now!

February 15th, 2012

I am shocked at some of the reviews. Dr. Payne first operated on my husband to repair a severe rotator cuff tear. He was very diligent in following Dr. Payne's instructions for recovery. It has been 7 years. He has full use his shoulder/arm; and, says it is stronger than at any time in his life. Subsequently, Dr. Payne repaired my left hip after a fall fracture. Last year he did a total replacement of my right hip. Both surgeries were totally successful and I have no pain or limitations. We have both always felt Dr. Payne to be very attentive, compassionate and knowledgeable. I need shoulder surgery in the near future. I wouldn't even consider another doctor.

February 23rd, 2014

Reading many of these comments it seems like a long wait is one of the biggest complaints. Dr. Payne has no control over how many patients they schedule for him. And if he does get behind it is because he spends extra time with patients, not because he is in and out like some of the other reviews. He was operated on me twice and I could not be happier. I was told I would never have full use of my shoulder again, but I now have probably 99.9% of my previous range of motion. I know some of the surgical staff at the hospital and they all say that he can be a bit short with them in interactions (although I have never had that), but that if they were going to be operated on that they would want him to do it.

April 30th, 2012

I do not understand prior years opinions, but perhaps the Dr. improved on his bedside manner or whatever; but Dr.Payne was fine with me. He listened, took his time and together we made decisions regarding my care. I have gone back to him for more consultation and will certainly go again.

February 25th, 2012

Everyone involved in the doctors office as well as the hospital were extremely helpful and competent. Surgery and recovery went very smoothly. i would recommend Dr. Payne to everyone.

March 17th, 2014

I attended my late afternoon appointment with my defenses up due to the seemingly bad reviews I read about Dr. Payne on this sight. I arrived 5 minutes late to my scheduled appointment, was told (PRIOR to the request for my $50 co-payment, surprisingly) that Dr. Payne was, indeed, running one hour behind with his patients. However, my wait was not too long before I was taken back for pre-examination and x-rays. Considerately, after x-rays were taken and prior to Dr. Payne's examination, I was kept informed (twice to be exact) by his nurse when I should expect Dr. Payne to come to my exam room. Upon Dr. Payne's arrival, he physically examined me, reviewed my ER report which his office solely obtained, and asked me numerous questions with regard to my shoulder complaints. My husband was present during the examination and Dr. Payne was very forthcoming with his answers to my husband's questions as well. I felt Dr. Payne was more than knowledgeable and he relayed his findings/diagnosis in a professional, yet sympathetic manner...tendinitis and bursitis, soft tissue injury. He pulled up my x-rays and reviewed them with me and my husband. He also showed my a few on-line demonstrative models in which he used to explain the whole shoulder mechanics...bones, tendons & ligaments. He was very prepared and discussed his proposed treatment to me and my husband. After the three of us went over the "pros" and "cons", the "pros" seeming to have long term benefits, I received a steroid shot in my right shoulder. Dr. Payne did attempt to instill in me unreasonable hopes of immediate relief, merely advised me that I should not expect relief instantaneously, that some of his patients felt a positive difference within 24 hours, but in some patients it took longer than 24 hours. I left Dr. Payne's office with a very sore shoulder but I hoped for the best,and of course, I expected the least. The soreness continued throughout the whole night. However, the following morning...WHAM! I felt NO PAIN in my shoulder, I had full range of motion in my right arm and for the first time, I felt and heard NO cracking/popping noises in my shoulder which usually led to immediate sharp pain. I'm a 40 yr old female and with the onset of this pain in my shoulder, I felt 60 yrs old...Now I feel like I have a 30 yr old female's shoulder!!! I would definitely go back to see and be treated by Dr. Payne. Hopefully I will never HAVE to see him, but I certainly respect and trust this physician, and not only would I seek out his treatment for any medical I treatment I may potentially require, I would recommend Dr. Payne to my family and friends.

March 1st, 2013

RateMDs Reviews

This was the replacement of my left hip, four years ago he replaced my right hip. Both surgeries went extremely well. No major pain and very rapid recover both times. Dr. Payne is an excellent surgeon.

August 5, 2019

Very informative, did not hurt me during exam or with injections. Will being seeing him again for other joint issues.

January 29, 2019

Dr. Payne did an excellent job replacing my left hip. He was very professional before and after the surgery. I would highly recommend Dr. Payne for any hip replacement surgery.

June 17, 2019

Dr. Payne replaced both hips and I am without pain and I have completely regained my mobility. He gave detailed instructions how to prepare before and after the surgery. This gave me confidence in his techniques for a positive outcome. I liked him, his staff and the hospital where he performed the surgeries. I highly recommend him to those seeking a competent surgeon.

April 17, 2018

Informed and helpful staff that make your experience pleasant. Every appointment i’ve had has been no longer than an hour to an hour and a half. Highly recommend this organization and the specially Dr. Raymond Payne. i’ve had multiple replacement surgeries including a right knee total replacement, over shoulder replacement, and the elbow replacement, I’ve also had two major back surgeries. This experience with my left knee replacement working with Dr. Payne and his staff ranks at the top.

February 22, 2018

Excellent doctor! Great to be active again without pain.

October 27, 2017

Dr. Payne did a terrific job with my knee replacement. He was helpful and answered every question I had with great professionalism. He was wonderful with the follow-up, making sure that all was well and progressing according to schedule.

August 10, 2017

Dr. Payne....top notch doctor....if i hadnt tripped and sprung my new knee two weeks after the operation I would have just about been fully healed in approx four weeks.As it turned out,my recovery took a bit longer. now my knee is just about perfect. Want a TNR by a first class surgeon , go to Dr Payne

March 16, 2015

Excellent, very knowledgeable and thorough. Staff was excellent.

March 20, 2014

Doctors' staff and hospital staff was extremely helpful and knowledgeable. Surgery and recovery went very smoothly. I would recommend Dr. Payne to all.

March 17, 2014

Dr. Payne performed knee replacement on me in January 2009. Before surgery I had very little mobility and was in constant pain. After surgery I had a new lease on life and was able to function like I never thought I would again. I tell him he is the next best thing to God. His bedside manners were excellent and I would recommend him to anyone with knee problems. I felt so comfortable with his treatment and follow-up.

February 19, 2014

Write a review

If you're interested in submitting a testimonial for Dr. Ray Payne , Please use the form below to do so.

Thanks!

Fields marked ( * ) are required